Rock and roll hall of fame

Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Always Ready for a Fight

The most recent edition of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame (RRHOF) induction ceremonies was seemingly once again a cauldron of anger for inductees and rockers alike. From Cheap Trick sharing the stage with their exiled drummer, Gene Simmons and Ice Cube feuding over the merits of N.W.A.’s credentials and Steve Miller blasting the Hall for asking him to pay $10,000 per ticket for any allotment over the two he received, criticism was rampant.

This has been common over the last three decades; with critics charging that the biases of Rolling Stone founder Jann Wenner dominate voting. Those individuals note the omission of classic rock groups such as The Moody Blues and Yes, while country-based singers and rap groups are welcomed in as members.

Wenner’s seeming influence over inductions is perhaps the most nagging complaint. His detractors point to the constant presence of disco band Chic as a potential nominee. Their 10 nominations is a Hall record for an artist/group not inducted, with the quality of their overall song catalog debatable. The lone reason for their nominations is because of group member and legendary producer, Nile Rodgers, who is otherwise ineligible for induction.

Even the induction ceremonies themselves are a source of irritation, since the RRHOF may be one of the few entities of its kind to rotate the annual induction site. For the first decade, the actual site in Cleveland didn’t exist, so with only one exception in 1993, New York’s Waldorf Astoria served as the venue.

However, until an agreement was worked out beginning in 2009, only the 1997 ceremonies were held in Cleveland. That annoyed many in the city, which put up the bulk of funds to build the museum. That deal now rotates between Cleveland, New York and Los Angeles.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>